Modding on Linux - Am I missing a step?

I am new to modding, have some basic proficiency in C, and am trying to mod baseq3 on a Linux x86_64 machine.

In my ioq3 directory, I try a simple test mod by changing the second argument in the call to VectorScale (in the fire_rocket function) from 900 to 200 to reduce the its speed. i.e.,
VectorScale( dir, 900, bolt->s.pos.trDelta ); -> VectorScale( dir, 200, bolt->s.pos.trDelta );
I go back to the main ioq3 directory and run make. I assume it compiles correctly because I see “GAME_CC code/game/g_missile.c” in the output and there are no errors. But much to my chagrin, when I run the game, the rocket does not move any slower. I’ve tried launching the game by doing
ioquake3,
going to ioq3/build/release_linux_x86-64 and directly executing ./ioquake3.x86_64,
creating a copy of /game called /MyMod in the main ioq3 directory, making the changes there and running
ioquake3 +set fs_game MyMod, and
./ioquake3.x86_64 +set fs_game MyMod

I assume I’m missing a step in compilation? I really appreciate the help!

PS: Forgive me if the solution is very trivial or obvious, I can’t seem to find a ioq3 modding guide for Linux anywhere

PPS: Not sure if this is relevant, but I discovered that whenever I run with the ‘+set fs_name MyMod’ option, the console spits out

It states this for every pak file excluding pak0.pk3. Note that I retrieved the pak files 1-8 from https://ioquake3.org/extras/patch-data/

Mod directories (fs_game) don’t need to include pak[0-8].pk3, baseq3/pak[0-8].pk3 is still used.

MyMod should be along side baseq3 and contain vm/qagame.qvm.

baseq3
   - pak0.pk3
   - pak1.pk3
   - pak2 to 8.pk3
mymod
   - vm
       - qagame.qvm
ioquake3.x86_64

qagame is a special case that it loads unzipped when sv_pure cvar is 1 (the default). To override cgame and/or ui QVM you need to set sv_pure 0 in the console or place the files (vm/*.qvm) in a zip file (still in vm directory in zip) and rename it to .pk3.