Focus On Mod Programming in Quake III Arena

Does anyone recommend this book for learning the Q3 codebase? Or is it too oudated?

Maybe I should have bought this instead of struggling during all 2013 … But maybe it’s not very good ! I’m also curious about some feedback on this book if anybody has some :slight_smile:

I’m starting a topic in Quake3world to see if anyone has info on it :slight_smile:

Source and book review: http://ericjmritz.name/2013/07/28/botw-focus-on-mod-programming-in-quake-iii-arena/

Note: This guy is probably not too familiar with the engine as he states that it’s C++ and not C.

I am the author of that review. If you meant that I am not too familiar with the engine—and I readily admit that I am no expert with it—I just want to say that I mention C++ because chapter two of the book discusses C++ heavily, talks about it being the future of id Tech, confuses it (in my opinion) with the Quake 3 code, and instructs the user on using C++ tools exclusively.

Anyways, I added a note to the review pointing out my error in giving the wrong impression about the engine’s language.

I sincerely apologize if you were offended by my post, it was only a thought that crossed my mind and not meant as criticism. It is an excellent review in general. :slight_smile:

No worries, wasn’t offended at all. Your post made me realize that I should have pointed out the “C vs. C++” confusion in the book (which shouldn’t be in the book to begin with).

Here’s some feedback I got at Quake 3 World :

Hi D-Meat, I bought this book ~ 10 years ago and I totally liked the book.
There was a CD included, at least with the edition I bought (not sure if the CD is still included?).
My personal opinion about the book:

1. It depends heavily how experienced you are already with programming Quake3 code. I was (and I am still) an amateur.
    Nevertheless I learned a lot by this book. If you are familiar with the source code I think there will be nothing new for you.