Maps disappearing from Skirmish menu

Hi there! I’ve never used these forums before, so my apologies if this is the wrong category or a question that has been answered before. For what it’s worth, I did search through the existing topics first and couldn’t find anything.

I’m using ioquake3 to run Q3A on Linux Mint, mainly to play custom maps from lvlworld.com against bots. After dropping the pk3 files into my home/ioquake3/baseq3 directory, I usually select the maps from the Single Player --> Skirmish menu. So far so good.

Recently, however, after I downloaded and added a few more maps I went into the Skirmish menu and noticed that some maps that were there before had disappeared – or rather, the shortcuts to the maps were gone. The files themselves are still in home/ioquake3/baseq3 and I can still launch all the maps using the “map” command in the console. The newer files I added all had unique names, so I’m pretty sure I didn’t inadvertently overwrite anything.

Is this normal/intended behaviour, or a bug? Is there perhaps a limit to the number of maps that can be displayed in the Skirmish menu?

I think the limit is 1024, though it may be lower depending on file size of maps/*.arena files in pk3s. When you start ioquake3 it should print a message in the console with the number of maps as # arenas parsed. You can open the console by pressing shift+escape.

Thanks very much for the response!

I think the limit is 1024, though it may be lower depending on file size of maps/*.arena files in pk3s.