ioquake3 consideration for professional use

Hello I am a professional environment designer and Indie game developer currently considering various open source game engines for future fps production development. The target systems are GNU/Linux (CentOS, SteamOS, Ubuntu) and windows 7+. I wanted to drop by to get some input from the community about quakeio3 viability for commercial use.

I have to admit I am disappointed with the presentation of this engine. Judging by the images here…

One thing I have found about many of these open source projects is that there is a lack of professional development and often times this means textures, shading networks and models don’t do justice to the actual capability’s of the engine. Are there better examples such as an engine demoreel or commercially developed to rate this engine againsed?

Graphics aside the actual game building experience/pipeline is another concern of mine. Does ioquake3 have a developer graphical frontend for arranging assets, setting up shaders, running scripts or other code such as C/C++/Python similar to that of Unreal/Unity/Cry and does it run natively in Linux? I expect to be able to import assets and code in the engine real time.

There are many other things that could be asked but right now you are the sales people. Im not here to make a huge debate, convince me to stay or leave.

Thank you

This is a 16 year old game engine, maintained by the open-source community with the only goal of staying loyal to the original game. It does not have the goal of being a commercial engine and, i hope, will never have. If you’re experimenting with ioquake, or any other id Tech ports, for a commercial release, you’re doing it wrong.

There are plenty of modern game engines out there, focused on providing features that are “hot” right now in the industry: Unreal Engine 4, Unity, Unigine and others. Pick one of them and just use it.