A brief presentation and a little question

Hi everyone. I am an Italian mathematician and software developer and in my free time I work on a couple of projects of mine involving ioQuake3 and id Tech 3 mapping in general. But, above all, I am a longtime Quake 3 player and ioQuake3 has always been my source port of choice; I hope one day I’ll be able to release at least one of these projects, as free and open source software, in order to give back something to the beautiful communities around classic id Software first person shooters.

I always try to solve technical doubts and issues by myself, but there’s one little thing I can’t figure out: is there a way in ioQuake3 to avoid the Hall Of Mirror effect when noclipping out of a map and looking at it from the outside? Clearly the caulk texture isn’t drawn by the engine, but I’m trying to understand if there is a cvar or some other setting that would let the player look at the external parts of a map with a “clean” background.

Anyway, huge thanks and sincere congratulations to the developers of ioQuake3 for this fantastic source port of an already fantastic game engine.

Davide

2 Likes

You can set r_clear 1 to clear the screen background. It’s magenta and not configurable though. This only works when loading the map using devmap <mapname>.

2 Likes

Thank you for the answer. I had already tried that command, but I can’t get it to work, even if followed by a vid_restart. Is it a feature added recently to the engine? The version I’m using could be one or two years old…