Coding concept/question

I’ve no clue how big a question this may be, but it’s not a simple question… I have worked on this and narrowed it down to a point.
I’ve long thought of creating my own version of Rise of the Triad ‘Drunk Missiles’ for my MOD. Went and got a copy of the original ROTT source code and have fiddled with the idea for many years.
Where I ended up was here.
I figured, instead of tapping into the sin array, (it looked like something way over my head, besides there’s so little useful info out there), why not ‘fake’ it. So I changed the TR_GRAVITY a little to suit my needs and voila, a great start. The missiles fire and soar up into the air… then I tried combining it with an existing variation of the homing missiles…
I’m no programmer, but I kinda got it to work. Haven’t quite finished with the TR_ code, but that and the homing section obviously fight quite a bit.
I went to the Code3Arena tutorials remembering ‘accelerating rockets’ tutorial went into this some, and after a quick refresher, it didn’t seem reasonable to put much into the TR_GRAVITY, following Hypothermia’s advice not to use it for much except very important stuff.
I was trying to find a way to turn the gravity off, and let the homing function take over, but once the TR_ANTIGRAVITY is used, it doesn’t seem to want to turn off, or maybe I’m not addressing the problem right… if it’s even possible to do it this way.
Any opinions?
I’ll post code if anyone wants to take a look… it’s kinda messy and has extra stuff in it… but it’s Neal Toronto’s work from the Altfire MOD source. I just gutted his TR_ORBITAL and used his homing missile code.

Sounds like an interesting project !

I played Rise of the Triad so long ago I don’t remember what these drunk missiles look like. Do you have a video ?